A Breakfast Meeting with British Museum and Sotheby’s

About a month ago, I was shocked by the fact that my Master program is coming to an end already. It feels like it has just started yesterday. Suddenly I need to think about what to do next. I started to search for jobs.

The Career centre of LSE provides opportunities of meeting people from the industry that you want to work in on a Friday breakfast meeting. So I signed up. The first one is about consultancy. I missed because of a typical reason – overslept. This week I finally made it.

 

I was not prepared. When sitting with two HRs from the Sotheby’s, I stupidly asked them to explain about what their company do. The HR was shocked by my ignorance. Well of course I know Sotheby’s. But I only know them by their Chinese name. Yeah that’s how unprepared I am. Embarrassed.

Sotheby’s is an art auction company, as everybody (but me) knows. The HR was quite frank and honest about the fact that working in Sotheby’s doesn’t sound as arty. It’s all about building client database, pricing, marketing, researching in numbers, all that ordinary big company stuff. The art is only an collective hallucination, Sotheby’s is an art auction company, as everybody (but me) knows. The HR was quite frank and honest about the fact that working in Sotheby’s doesn’t sound as arty. It’s all about building client database, pricing, marketing, researching in numbers, all that ordinary big company stuff. The art is only a collective hallucination, to be completely honest. (Except for the expertise department.) With my background of Cultural Consumption and Production studies, I was suggested to maybe think of joining the client development department as a start point (e.g. doing an internship), and then start from that. The graduate trainee program requires the candidates to have past experience of working in the art world. Which I currently don’t have any.

Sotheby’s is an art auction company, as everybody (but me) knows. The HR was quite frank and honest about the fact that working in Sotheby’s doesn’t sound as arty. It’s all about building client database, pricing, marketing, researching in numbers, all that ordinary big company stuff. The art is only a collective hallucination, to be completely honest. (Except for the expertise department.) With my background of Cultural Consumption and Production studies, I was suggested to maybe think of joining the client development department as a start point (e.g. doing an internship), and then start from that. The graduate trainee program requires the candidates to have past experience of working in the art world. Which I currently don’t have any.

Talking with the lady form the British Museum was more delightful. (Sorry Sotheby’s.) She was a former graduate from LSE. Apart from giving information of job hunting in British Museum, her life-advice for fresh graduates about how to start of is very useful and inspiring for me. Find your passion, build your cultural capital, network with people who has your dream job, connect your school work with your future career planning, doing volunteer job, get your hands dirty, show your personal passion via your expereice… She probrably would never know that her advices helped my in so many struggles I’m having now, about my Dissertation, my spare time, my future, job hunting, blogging, using social media, courses…..

Then I rushed back to my dorm to write this blog — just to remind myself the importance of having a goal/insight of future. I have been goal-less for such a long time and it feels so good to have it back.

Gonna go to a exhibition in R.A. now. I will write more about the discussion we had this morning later.

 

Yee See. Xx.

 

 

A Breakfast Meeting with British Museum and Sotheby’s

Leave a Reply

